The Ministry

The Ministry of Education, Children and Youth is responsible for preparing and implementing government policy on education, childhood and youth.

Whether formal or non-formal education is involved, good quality and socially fair education and care are essential so that all children, all young people and all adults have equal opportunities with a view to shaping their future.

Adapting the education system to a constantly changing society and to the needs of an increasingly diverse population is at the heart of the Ministry’s education policy. In the same logic of equal opportunities, the Ministry ensures that high quality services are available in the childcare structures. It is implementing a multidisciplinary and participatory youth policy, the better to accompany young people during the complex period constituted by their transition from adolescence to adulthood.

Claude Meisch has occupied the post of Minister of Education, Children and Youth since 4 December 2013.

The main missions of the Ministry include:

·         legislation and general policy on education (excluding higher education) as well as lifelong training: determining national programmes and curricula, organisation and content of syllabuses, issuing national diplomas, recruitment and management of school staff, etc.;

·         legislation and general policy on childhood: childcare structures; the ‘chèque-service accueil’ childcare voucher scheme, assistance for children, adoption, children’s rights, etc.;

·         legislation and general policy on youth: services for young people, participation of young people, training of youth leaders, etc.;

  • supervision and assessment of education policies, with a view to ensuring a coherent education system.

All these missions and attributions of the Ministry of Education, Children and Youth are defined in the Grand-Ducal Decree of 23 December 2013 constituting the Ministries.

Last update

Le ministère

Le ministère de l’Éducation nationale, de l’Enfance et de la Jeunesse est l’administration chargée de préparer et mettre en œuvre la politique du gouvernement dans les domaines de l’éducation, de l’enfance et de la jeunesse.

Qu’il s’agisse de l’éducation formelle ou non formelle – une éducation et une prise en charge de qualité et socialement justes sont indispensables pour donner à chaque enfant, chaque jeune, chaque adulte des chances équitables pour construire son avenir.

L’adaptation du système éducatif à l’évolution de la société et aux besoins d’une population toujours plus hétérogène et est au cœur de la politique éducative du ministère. Dans la même logique d’équité des chances, le ministère veille à la mise en place d’une offre de services de haute qualité dans les  structures d’accueil. Il met en œuvre une politique de jeunesse transversale et participative pour accompagner au mieux les jeunes dans la période complexe qu’est la transition de l’adolescence vers la vie d’adulte.

Depuis le 4 décembre 2013, Claude Meisch est ministre de l'Éducation nationale, de l’Enfance et de la Jeunesse.

Parmi les principales missions du ministère figurent :

  • la législation, la politique générale de l'enseignement (sauf enseignement supérieur) et de la formation tout au long de la vie : fixation des programmes nationaux, organisation et contenu des enseignements, délivrance des diplômes nationaux, recrutement et gestion du personnel des écoles, …
  • la législation et la politique générale de l’enfance : structures d’accueil ; chèque-service accueil, aide à l’enfance, adoption, droits de l’enfant, …
  • la législation et la politique générale de la jeunesse : services pour jeunes, participation des jeunes, formation d’animateurs, …
  • le contrôle et l'évaluation des politiques éducatives, en vue d'assurer la cohérence du système éducatif.

L’ensemble des missions et attributions du ministère de l'Éducation nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse sont définies dans l'arrêté grand-ducal du 5 décembre 2018 portant constitution des ministères.

 

Dernière mise à jour